Stuffed with Love

Once in a blue moon, Al will actually ask me to make a specific dish for dinner. It’s something of a miracle when this happens. So, when 9 out of 10 times it’s the same stuffed chicken I don’t complain about it. And now I fondly refer to the dish as “Al’s chicken.”

This recipe is a combination of a few things I liked from one recipe and a few things I liked from another. I’m one of those people who can never just leave a recipe alone, I always doctor it up in some way. Turns out that’s a good way to make a “winner, winner chicken dinner.” (But really, I swear, I don’t ALWAYS cook chicken. The next recipe I share will not be chicken.)

What you’ll need:

4 chicken breasts

4 – 6 tbsp sun-dried tomato pesto

~ 1 cup baby spinach

~ 1 cup mozzarella cheese

Salt

Pepper

Parsley

Cooking spray

Breadcrumbs

I’m not going to lie, the prep for this one is a little bit of a pain in the butt, however, it’s completely worth it. I cut the breasts in half, butterfly each piece, and pound them out to about 1/2 inch thick. Season both sides with salt and pepper then sprinkle the inside of each with parsley. Spread about 1 – 1 1/2 tbsp of sun-dried tomato pesto evenly across each piece. Evenly distribute the spinach and cheese, add more or less depending on your preference.


Sometimes, I’ll add a piece or two of thin-sliced smoked ham before the spinach and cheese, it’s always a game-time decision but adds even more flavor. And really, who doesn’t like meat stuffed with meat?

Now comes the tricky part. Rolling them. It’s a messy process, but I like to start with the smaller end and roll away from me while pushing everything under. You can use a tooth pick to hold them together if need be, but I’ve never had them fall apart. Place the rolled chicken in 9 x 13″ lightly greased pan with the end of each roll facing down. Mist each piece with cooking spray then sprinkle the tops with bread crumbs (my lazy breading technique). Bake for 35 – 40 minutes at 350ºF.

A cold green bean salad would be awesome with this, just steamed green beans cooled and coated in Italian dressing.

Try it out. I don’t think you’ll be sorry you did.

Leave a Reply

