Weeknight Dinner Date

For anyone who doesn’t have the pleasure of always having to decide what to make for dinner, it’s really not exactly a “pleasure.” typically I’m at my office from 7:45 AM until 5:00 PM. And after that day, the last think I want to have to do is figure out what to make for dinner. I 100 percent understand why my dad would get so frustrated with my sister and me for being the most indecisive children ever.

But, with all that being said, the easiest way to avoid running into the “crap it’s 4:15 and I still haven’t figured out what to make for dinner” situation is to have a handful of easy weeknight meals that make any night feel like date night.

One of Al’s favorites is my Caprese Chicken. It’s super easy, full of flavor, and great as leftovers. Here’s what you’ll need:

4 trimmed chicken breasts
3/4 cup mozzarella cheese
15 (about) quartered cherry tomatoes
Balsamic vinegar or vinaigrette
Olive oil
Basil
Salt and Pepper

Ok so like I said, it’s so easy to make. Preheat your oven to 350ºF. Drizzle a 9″ x 13″ pan with olive oil and arrange your chicken. Season with salt and pepper to your taste. Generously drizzle each breast with balsamic an olive oil or balsamic vinaigrette. Sprinkle with basil then top with tomatoes. Bake for 25 minutes then pull out your pan and top each breast with mozzarella cheese. Bake for another 5 minutes and voilà, done.

IMG_2950.JPG

I cut one of the chicken breasts in half for myself, but the real truck to great chicken is to pound it out a little so that all of your pieces are the same thickness.

Typically, I serve this chicken with lightly seasoned brown rice and a steamed veggie of choice. Last time I made this I did steamed asparagus, which I steam in white wine (it’s a trip to flavor town, if you haven’t tried it you should).

 

Whether you make this for family dinner, for yourself, or for a dinner party, it’s sure to make everyone full and happy.

Leave a Reply

